Breakthroughs are always Welcome!

I have been forcing myself to move past my comfort zone and venture out to attend an art opening by myself. It was a splashy event and I went to see some Manny Farber paintings because I love looking at lucious brushwork in oil paint, rich color contrasts and pairings, and different than usual divisions of space. I am so glad I attended. I even survived a rich lady looking at my shoes and giving me the onion smell face. I laughed actually and thought- yes, you can judge me by my moccasin loafers but have no idea what a talented artist I am standing in front of you.

I am also stretching myself once again as an artist and have been making behind the scenes studies on the directions I want to take in my art and life. Growing pains hurt but are a good thing. They wake you up wholly and kind of slap you in the face with reality. After all it is up to the artist to keep learning and growing and inventing.

L

Comment